Fairy Tale Romance Collection — by Melanie Dickerson

Melanie Dickerson knew what she was doing when she started writing YA novels. All girls, whether 3 years old or 90 years old, want to be a princess!! In retelling these fairy tales, she has won over the hearts of many!

In this collection, we have Melanie first book. The story of “Sleeping Beauty” is retold  in The Healer’s Apprentice. We are introduced to Rose Roemer. She is an apprentice under the watchful eye of her protector. Of course, you are familiar with the story and can guess the rest (;

Next, in Melanie’s second book, The Merchants Daughter,
we are introduced to Annabel as she must work for the the man that “has a beard and one of his arms is afflicted”. She finds herself inside the castle in the midst of a “Beauty and the Beast” retelling.

In her third book, The Fairest Beauty, she begins to introduce characters we will see throughout the rest of her books. Sophie is a servant in her own father’s home because he has died and she is left with her evil stepmother. Nope! Not “Cinderella”! Not yet!! This is the retelling of “Snow White”.

Now we have “Cinderella”!! In, The Captive Maiden, we find the story of Sophie and Valten. This, Valten, is the brother of Gabe (whom Sophie married in the last book!!)! I don’t need to tell you the details. You get the idea! It’s everyone’s favorite fairy tale!

Lastly, The Princess Spy, is a retelling of “The Princess and the Frog”. Now, this was a bit of a stretch, as far as calling it a “retelling” of that particular story. However, it was still fun and entertaining. The story is centered Margaretha, who is the sister of Gabe and Valten.

Whew! Did you follow all of that? Well, you will have to check them out for yourself! The link for this set is in the pic above. The individual links are also posted.

My thoughts? Love these books. They are written for YA, but so much fun. I, personally, like her first book the most. They are all wonderful! We need more of these type for our youth.

Keep an eye out for Melanie’s new book, The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest. Release date is set for May 12th.

Thanks, booklookbloggers, for this wonderful collection! As always, this is my honest opinion. Here’s to many more!!

2 responses to “Fairy Tale Romance Collection — by Melanie Dickerson”

  1. Thanks for the post, Charity! Also, The Merchant’s Daughter is connected to the other books through The Princess Spy. Colin is the grandson of Ranulf and Annabel le Wyse, and he falls in love with Margaretha. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

%d bloggers like this: